Tony Hadley, lead singer of Spandau Ballet said Freddie Mercury was his idol and little did he know that Freddie was one of his biggest fans. He had an opportunity to meet Freddie during one of Queen’s concerts in the UK at the Birmingham National Exhibition Center in 1984.

Tony said he was dying to meet the band and they were all so friendly and polite. Tony was invited to an after party at the bands hotel. He sat right next to Freddie who offered him a piece of advice he’s never forgotten. Tony said, “I sat there talking to him that night about the on-stage persona, and Freddie said, ‘Never apologize. The audience have come to see you, so it doesn’t matter if you’re a bit off one night. You’ve just got to front the whole thing out.’ I was only 23 or 24 singing in a band that was doing OK. He was rock royalty. He didn’t have to bother with someone like me. But he was so enthusiastic, so keen to input his knowledge and experience. He was the only one who ever did that, and I respected him for it. He offered quite a bit of advice to me. He was a lovely, lovely man.”

The picture is Freddie Mercury and Tony Hadley performing ‘Jailhouse Rock’ at Mt Smart Stadium, 13 April 1985 by Shelley Watson

Post field in: Featured, news

Freddie Mercury Online

NAME :Freddie Mercury Online

THEMA:by Klaudia

BEST VIEW mobile


This fansite has no direct affiliation with Freddie Mercury’s family or management. We are purely a fansite for fans to enjoy. All images have been taken from Facebook, Unofficial sites, and all others have their corresponding credit. If you want to contribute news or photos just contact me

Latest picture