Welcome to Freddie Mercury Online, Your latest online resource dedicated to the talented Frontman. Freddie is best known as the singer from the band Queen. Songs like Radio Gaga, We Will Rock You and Bohemian Rhapsody are numbers of the band. Unfortunately Freddie is no longer with us but through this fansite you will learn so much about the legend Freddie Mercury. Enjoy the gallery and the news.
Aug 21
freddiemercuryonline   Featured,news

22 May 1989, ‘The Miracle” album was released in the UK. The album was originally titled “The Invisible Men”, partly as a riposte to their critics and also because it appeared nearly three years after A Kind Of Magic (1986)

‘The Miracle’ gave Queen their sixth No 1 album in the UK, it remained on the charts for an impressive 32 weeks and achieved Platinum sales status.

Queen’s thirteenth studio album was recorded at Olympic and Townhouse Studios in London, and Mountain studios in Montreux, between January 1988 and January 1989. It was produced by the band with David Richards, who also engineered the sessions with the help of various assistants. Having spent considerable time with the band on both Queen various solo ventures, Richards was now a permanent fixture on sessions and would remain so through to the final songs Freddie recorded in 1991.

Prior to The Miracle sessions, the band had spent 1987 apart, working upon individual projects. Brian had produced songs for various artists, Freddie recorded the Barcelona album with Spanish opera star Montserrat Caballé, and Roger founded a brand new part-time band called The Cross. The year apart would prove greatly beneficial, as everyone came to the new project with renewed vigour and an abundance of fresh ideas. Queen would record many more tracks than they needed for The Miracle. Some would ultimately be utilised as single B-sides, while others remain unreleased in the archive.

For the very first time on a Queen album, all the songs (and subsequent single B-sides) were credited as written by the band collectively, regardless of the actual author. This seemingly inconsequential detail was in fact significant and something of a liberating experience for the band. Not least of all, it bypassed the usual arguments over whose track should be chosen as a single and whose would not. Now, with Queen sharing equal royalties on all material, the road was clear to focus on other things.

The striking cover artwork for the album was based on a concept conceived by Queen and represents the unity of the band; a seamless merging of four people becoming one. This was, after all, during the period when the Queen members were pulling together closely beneath a veil of secrecy in dealing with Freddie’s deteriorating illness. Indeed, there was the very real likelihood during these sessions that Freddie would not be around to complete the work. The band closed ranks like never before to focus on the work ahead and in order that nothing deterred them from their course. The four faces morphed into one on the cover, captures this feeling and remains today one of Queen’s most admired and universally recognised images. The startling back cover took the idea a step further, with a seamless regimented montage of just the band’s eyes.

Although there were rumors that a tour would be announced following the release of the album, sadly, for reasons that are now obvious, this was not to be. In May 1989 the band recorded a special interview for BBC Radio One in which Freddie explained to Mike Read that it was he who didn’t want to tour. “We’ve been there and done that”, he said, and now the time had come for Queen to break the relentless ‘album, tour, album, tour’ routine. Freddie went so far as to say that at his age he didn’t feel he should be running around a stage in a leotard any more.

The Miracle album was originally to be called The Invisible Men, but was changed just a few weeks prior to the release date.

The album yielded Five singles: I Want It All / Breakthru / The Invisible Man / Scandal / The Miracle.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest projects
  • A kind of Magic
    A kind of Magic 1986
    Freddie Mercury
    A Kind of Magic" is the title track of the 1986 album of the same name by the British rock band Queen. It was written by the band's drummer, Roger Taylor, for the film Highlander and featured as the ending theme. The single reached number three in the UK Singles Chart, top ten in a number of European countries, and #42 on the US Billboard Hot 100.[1] The song is the opening track on the band's compilation albums, Greatest Hits II, and Classic Queen.
Site Information
  • Webmiss: Seraja
  • Contact: mail@freddiemercuryonline.us
  • Launch: 3 march 2021
  • Social MediaTwitter -  Facebook
  • HostFansite Hosting • DMCA • Privacy Policy

  • Affiliates